My thoughts on Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy

Hello and welcome to today’s blog on Stephen Niven – Mainly about video games! In this blog post I am going to be blogging about my thoughts on Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy; the upcoming PlayStation 4 remaster that will be developed by Vicarious Visions.

Crash Bandicoot is my all-time favourite video game franchise, and when Sony announced at E3 2016 that it would be coming back from a long break, I was really excited. Step forward a few months later; in December 2016, and Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy was announced. The game, that will be published by Activision, will feature a collection of remakes from the first three PlayStation games in the series – Crash Bandicoot, Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex Strikes Back and Crash Bandicoot: Warped. It is set for worldwide release on 30th June 2017.

maxresdefault
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjUFmRmsIG4)

When looking back at the Crash Bandicoot series, I would say that the original three games were some of my favourites; which all see the madcap bandicoot traversing through various levels to stop the evil Dr. Neo Cortex from taking over the planet. Like in the PlayStation games, ‘Crash uses spinning and jumping techniques to defeat enemies, smash crates, and collect items such as Wumpa Fruits, extra lives, and protective Aku-Aku masks’. However, as well as this, the trilogy will add a whole host of new features, including things like pause menus and save systems, unified checkpoints, and time trials; which were first imported in Warped. The trilogy will also introduce high-definition 4K resolution and remastered audio.

crash-bandicoot-n-sane-trilogy
(http://www.escapistmagazine.com/news/view/169561-Crash-Bandicoot-N-Sane-Trilogy-Release-Date)

According to Vicarious Visions, the game is neither a remaster or a remake, but a ‘remaster plus’ instead, as they did not use all of the assets from the original PlayStation trilogy. An example of this is in the voice cast, as most of them are the same who voiced characters in later Crash games such as Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex and Crash Of The Titans. In my opinion, I feel that Activision and Sony Interactive Entertainment have only brought the franchise back due to the enormous fan pressure and as well as this, I think that the N. Sane Trilogy is a ‘test’ game; to see if the series still holds up. However despite this, I have faith in that the collection will sell many copies, especially if it stays limited to the PlayStation 4.

31280966081_4fe982eedc_o
(https://blog.eu.playstation.com/2016/12/03/crash-bandicoot-n-sane-trilogy-rebuilds-the-psone-classics-for-a-unique-ps4-remaster-package/)

As I said in the introduction, Crash Bandicoot is my favourite video game series, and to be awaiting a new game for it, is a time that I am looking forward to. Obviously however, for it being the first game in nearly 10 years, it means that things have changed, and I am for one hoping that the N. Sane Trilogy will be what everybody desires for. Unlike a large amount of recently released games, I will be picking this one up straight from launch, and this is the first time in a few years in that I am going to be owning a game right from its first day out.

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fbO2-egZ3U)

I hope you have enjoyed my latest Stephen Blogs on, and if you have any comments or suggestions, please feel free to leave a comment below!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jacob Braybrooke says:

    It’s a maybe for me. I like how they had to rebuild it with completely new assets and i viewed a 3 minute gameplay video online which made it look very impressive. I am looking forward more to Prey and Middle-Earth: Shadow Of War though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

